Contact us

Home  
spacer
Viewed: 1549 -- Replies: 9
spacer
Posted FORUM TOPIC: Ideas for traditional British dishes for pub
07-02-2008
by alfablue
My son has just opened a 15th century country pub. The theme is classic and historic British food. We are having trouble identifying veggie dishes that genuinely fit this brief. I am a vegetarian, but my diet comprises mostly mediterranean and asian style foods, so I am not helping much! I would be very grateful for ANY suggestions for appropriate dishes, starters or mains. Many thanks in anticipation. (ps so far we have cauliflower cheese, and glamorgan sausages).
12-02-2008
by VickieMH
its difficult, I really struggle to find decent vegetarian food in restaurants. I tend to visit the Toby Carvery of all places, they do an excellent mushroom, cranberry and cheese in filo pastry. Their Brie, mushroom, broccoli is also v nice. I am new to vegetarian food though and still finding my feet..

Good Luck x

19-02-2008
by Chewthecud.co.uk
Start with a creamy asparagus soup (us vegan cream if you prefer) http://www.chewthecud.co.uk/Creamyaspargussoup.html

Or just make a sheperds pie with soya instead. Use dried veggie "beef". Soak it drain it and use it just like beef. http://www.veggie-world.com/ has some good stuff. They are chinese products but can be used in english cooking.

Or one last one, vegetable lasagna. Classic veggie dish which will also appeal to meat eaters. My gilfriends always has that and shes a total meat head. But watch out for you cheese, a ton of cheese an't veggie and hardly any parmasa is veggie! If your really intersted i'll give the details of my suplier drop me an email. jimmy_riddle@yahoo.co.uk

Good luck
13-03-2008
by vegetarian_queen